A lot has been going on at my High School Alma Mater, St. Joan Antida High School, over the past few weeks.  In response to the Alan Borsuk article called “A Drastic Teacher overhaul at St. Joan Antida High School” (http://www.jsonline.com/news/education/96734419.html).  Alumni and parents have taken to the Internet in response to the article.  Also tonight I just got finished listening to and was on hold to speak on the AM620 radio show that was dedicated to talking about the issue.  Though I didn’t get to speak on the radio about it, due to time constraints, I am still fired up and passionate about the issues at hand so have decided to dust off my blog in order to do so!  This will be the first of a few postings dedicated to different aspects of the issue.

There were many things that I would have wanted to say in regard to this issue.  I have posted various opinions since the article broke but I want to put it altogether here…

The theme of the AM620 show had to do with change.  I want to go on record as saying that I AM NOT anti-change and I think that many of my fellow alumni who have come forth about this issue feel the same way.   But in order for change to work, change needs to be done properly.

The article presented a very one-sided view of this change.   It was suggested in the article that anyone who attended SJA has been given a sub-par education.  Sub-par… really?  I know that I was given a good foundation that paved my way to college and later grad school.  I also know that my sister, along with all my friends have all had similar experiences and successes along the way.  All of us are products of the SJA system of education, which was a combination of the Multiple Intelligences (recognized that we all have our own strengths that we bring to the table) and a family like atmosphere.   So how has SJA gotten to this point where they have merited an overhaul?

An item that I found particularly interesting was that it said that the administration had to choose between offering an education that prepares young women for college or one that gets them through their teen years.  I guess I don’t understand why they need to choose.  These same educators who have been left by the wayside are the same ones that were the ones who found a way to offer all the young women at SJA an education that prepared us for college as well as helping us through our formative teenage years.

I guess at this juncture I don’t really understand what had happened since I graduated in 2003 that merited such a giant overhaul… I am not naïve so I know in my mind what the common link could be but I think I leave it to everyone to form that opinion.  Please discuss if you would like if not I will still continue to post!

Up next time thoughts on cut programs and what actually is needed to prepare one for college.

One last note… Thanks for all the Alumni, parents, former teachers, current teachers and friends of SJA for taking to the internet on this issue!  Also a special shout out to the Thorn sisters (specifically Chiara and Sofia!) and my own sister Elysabeth for taking initiative on this issue!